Two from Iowa State receive higher education awards

Two Iowa State faculty received awards in March from ACPA-College Student Educators International.                                                         

Iowa State University distinguished professor emeritus John Schuh received ACPA’s 2017 Lifetime Achievement Award. Nominators noted Schuh’s extraordinary scholarship, including 33 books, 80 book chapters, 110 articles and more than 300 presentations.

As Jerlando Jackson, Iowa State alumnus, Vilas Distinguished Professor of Higher Education, and director of Wisconsin’s Equity and Inclusion Laboratory at the University of Wisconsin-Madison, noted, Schuh is “the standard by which we should measure hard work and productivity in the academy.”

“Iowa State University has been a national leader in the study of higher education and student affairs for decades,” Schuh said. “I have been fortunate to be associated with such a remarkably talented group of students and faculty.”

Schuh, who holds master’s and Ph.D. degrees in counseling and higher education from Arizona State University, has held numerous faculty and administrative appointments over his 45-year career, including positions at Iowa State, Arizona State, Wichita State University, and Indiana University, Bloomington. He also served for more than 20 years as a reserve officer in the U.S. Army Medical Service Corps before retiring at the rank of major in 1991.

Schuh joined Iowa State in 1997 as professor and in 1998 became chair of educational leadership and policy studies. He currently directs the university’s Emerging Leaders Academy, which prepares faculty and staff for leadership positions in the university.

Perez named emerging scholar

Rosemary Perez, an assistant professor in the School of Education, received ACPA’s Emerging Scholar Award.

Perez, who joined Iowa State in 2014, earned a bachelor’s degree in biological sciences from Carnegie Mellon University; a master’s in higher education and student affairs from The University of Vermont; and a Ph.D. in higher education from the University of Michigan. Her research interests at Iowa State include student development theory, social justice training and education, and the professional socialization of graduate students and new professionals.

“It’s an honor to join a distinguished group of ISU faculty and alumni who have been recognized for their early career scholarship,” Perez said.

The 2017 ACPA awards were presented March 27 at the association’s annual conference in Columbus, Ohio.