2011-2012 ADVANCE News

July 23, 2012

Mayly Sanchez, Assistant Professor of Physics and Astronomy wins presidential award for neutrino research. This is the highest early career honor offered by the U.S. government. Read the Article

June 15, 2012

Kristen Constant named chair of the materials science and engineering program bringing the proportion of female department chairs in engineering up to 50%. Read the Article

May 22, 2012

Diane Rover, professor of electrical and computer engineering, named ASEE Fellow. Read the Article

April 23, 2012

Caroline Hayes named new chair of mechanical engineering. Read the Article

Spring 2012

University and College Awards to STEM Women Faculty and ADVANCE Participants.

March 9, 2012

Helen Jensen honored as 2012 AAEA Fellow.

February 17, 2012

Diane Debinski, professor of ecology, evolution and organismal biology, received the Faculty Award for Diversity Enhancement from the College of Agriculture and Life Sciences. Debinski was recognized for her leadership in bringing the ADVANCE Institutional Transformation National Science Foundation grant to Iowa State. Read the press release

February 17, 2012

Pat Thiel named a Fellow Materials Research Society.

February 17, 2012

Protein Society honors chemistry's Mei Hong with award.

February 17, 2012

Math's Ling Long to receive Ruth I. Michler Memorial Prize and fellowship.

February 6, 2012

Eve Syrkin Wurtele and team developed award-winning 3D video game that really teaches cell biology to youth. Read Article

January 30, 2012

Plaques commemorate women in science at Iowa State.

January 20, 2012

Bryony Bonning, Professor of Entomology, was the recipient of a 2011 Women of Innovation Research Innovation and Leadership Award from the Technology Association of Iowa. Bonning is the founding director of the ISU Virus-Insect Interactions Initiative. Her research has resulted in five patents that have attracted industrial support.

January 12, 2012

Sharon Bird, ISU ADVANCE Research Director and Associate Professor of Sociology, honored on the 2012 Women Impacting ISU Calendar.

December 13, 2011

Malika Jeffries-El receives Chemistry's rising star award. Read Article.

December 7, 2011

Next Dean of the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences comes from ADVANCE Program at Virginia Tech. Read Article

Spring and Fall, 2011

University and College Awards to STEM Women Faculty and ADVANCE Participants.