Past Leaders

Principal Investigators

- Elizabeth Hoffman, Executive Vice President and Provost (2007-2012)
- Susan L. Carlson, Associate Provost for Faculty Advancement and Diversity (PI)

ISU ADVANCE co-PI Team 2011-2012

- Sharon R. Bird, Department of Sociology
- Bonnie S. Bowen, Department of Ecology, Evolution and Organismal Biology
- Dawn Bratsch-Prince, Associate Provost for Faculty
- Diane M. Debinski, Department of Ecology, Evolution and Organismal Biology
- Sandra W. Gahn, Office of Institutional Research

Transition Team 2011-2012

- Bonnie S. Bowen, Executive Director (2006-2012)
- Sharon R. Bird, Research Director (2006-2012)
- Dawn Bratsch-Prince, Associate Provost for Faculty, co-PI Team
- Sandra W. Gahn, Associate Director, Office of Institutional Research and co-PI
 Team
- Lisa Larson, Equity Advisor, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences

Faculty Success Advisors

- Susan J. Lamont, College of Agriculture and Life Sciences (2010-)
- Janette R. Thompson, College of Agriculture and Life Sciences (2007-2010)
- Huifang Mao, College of Business (2017-2021)
- Ginka Borisova, College of Business (2015-2016)
- Dan Zhu, College of Business (2014-2015)
- Christine Denison, College of Business (2013-2014)
- Mark Chidister, College of Design (2013-2014)
- Kristen Constant, College of Engineering (2009-2012)
- Charles E. Glatz, College of Engineering (2007-2008)
- Christa Jackson, College of Human Sciences (2019-2021)
- Eulanda Sanders, College of Human Sciences (2016-2018)
- Mary Lynn Damhorst, College of Human Sciences (2013-2016)
- Katherine R. Bruna, College of Human Sciences (2011-2012)
- Javier Vela, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences (2016-2021)
- Lisa Larson, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences (2007-2015)
- Catherine M. Logue, College of Veterinary Medicine (?-2017)

Department Enhancement Program Facilitators

- Meifen Wei, Department of Psychology
- Maggie La Ware, Department of English/Program in Speech Communication

ADVANCE Professors

- Kristen Constant, Department of Materials Science and Engineering (2007-2009)
- Ralph E. Napolitano, Department of Materials Science and Engineering (Beginning 2009)
- Fredric J. Janzen, Department of Ecology, Evolution and Organismal Biology (2007-2008)
- James W. Raich, Department of Ecology, Evolution and Organismal Biology (Beginning 2009)
- Jo Anne Powell-Coffman, Department of Genetics, Development and Cell Biology (2007-2009)
- Steven R. Rodermel, Department of Genetics, Development and Cell Biology (Beginning 2009)
- Mark Gordon, Department of Chemistry
- Shauna Hallmark, Department of Civil, Construction and Environmental Engineering
- Elisabeth Huff-Lonergan, Department of Animal Science
- Adam Bogdanove, Department of Plant Pathology and Microbiology
- Charles E. Glatz, Department of Chemical and Biological Engineering (Beginning 2009)
- Alan Goldman, Department of Physics and Astronomy

Partners from Colleges

- Claire Andreasen, Associate Dean, College of Veterinary Medicine
- Joe Colletti, Senior Associate Dean, College of Agriculture and Life Sciences
- Gary Mirka, Associate Dean, College of Engineering
- David J. Oliver, Former Associate Dean, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
- Carla A. Peterson, Associate Dean, College of Human Sciences

Other Partners

- Connie Hargrave, Director, Science Bound
- Eugenio Matibag, Director, Center for American Intercultural Studies
- Karen Zunkel, Former Director, Program for Women in Science and Engineering

ADVANCE Faculty Fellows

- Frankie Santos Laanan (Spring 2007)
- Bonita Glatz (Spring 2008)

- Mary Harris (2008-2009)
- Annette O'Connor (2009-2010)
- Kristen Constant (Summer 2010)
- Diane Rover (2010-2011)
- Loreto Prieto (2010-2011)
- Elisabeth Huff-Lonergan (2012-2015)
- Lisa Larson (2015-2019)

Advisors to the ISU ADVANCE Program

Internal Advisory Council

- Elizabeth Hoffman, Executive Vice President and Provost (2007-2012)
- Wendy K. Wintersteen, Dean, College of Agriculture and Life Sciences
- Jonathan Wickert, Dean, College of Engineering (2009-2012)
- James Bernard, Interim Dean, College of Engineering (2008-2009)
- Mark Kushner, Dean College of Engineering (2006-2008)
- Pamela White, Dean, College of Human Sciences (2009-2016)
- Beate Schmittmann, Dean College of Liberal Arts and Sciences (2012-)
- David Oliver, Interim Dean, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences (2011-2012)
- Michael B. Whiteford, Dean, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences (2008-2011)
- Lisa Nolan, Dean, College of Veterinary Medicine (2011-)
- John Thomson, Dean, College of Veterinary Medicine (2006-2010)

External Advisors

- Ronda Callister, Ph.D., Utah State University
- Jacquelyn Litt, Ph.D., Douglass Residential Center, Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey
- Caroline Sotello Viernes Turner, Ph.D., California State University, Sacramento; Arizona State University
- Claire Van Ummersen, Ph.D., American Council on Education

Former Participants in the ADVANCE Program

- James Bernard, College of Engineering (Internal Advisory Board)
- Jill Bystydzienski, The Ohio State University Department of Women's Studies (co-PI)
- Susan L. Carlson, Associate Provost for Faculty Advancement and Diversity (PI)
- Craig Chatriand, Graduate Student, Department of Educational Leadership and Policy Studies
- Marilyn Cornish, Graduate Student, Department of Psychology
- Carla Fehr, Department of Philosophy, University of Waterloo
- Florence A. Hamrick, Department of Educational Leadership and Policy Studies (co-PI)

- Carolyn Heising, Department of Industrial and Manufacturing Systems Engineering (co-PI)
- Nicol Jones, Program Assistant
- Mark Kushner, Dean College of Engineering (2006-2008)
- Frankie Santos Lanaan, Department of Educational Leadership and Policy Studies (co-Pl)
- Mike Larsen, Department of Statistics (Senior Personnel)
- Adin Mann, Assistant Dean, Graduate College
- Susan Masters, Sponsored Programs Administration (Program Assistant)
- Balaji Narasimhan, Associate Dean, College of Engineering
- Divinity B. O'Connor-Roberts, Graduate Student, Department of Sociology
- Jason L. Pontius, Graduate Student, Department of Educational Leadership and Policy Studies
- Trina J. Ramirez, Graduate Student, Department of Educational Leadership and Policy Studies
- Laura Rhoton, Post-Doctoral Research Associate
- Diane T. Rover, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering
- Diane Smith, Program Assistant
- Rebecca Sremack, Graduate Student, Department of Sociology
- Molly Sween, Graduate Student, Department of Sociology
- Janette R. Thompson, Department of Natural Resource Ecology and Management
- John Thomson, Dean, College of Veterinary Medicine
- Judy Vance, Department of Mechanical Engineering (co-PI)

Other ADVANCE Partners

Focal Departments

College of Agriculture and Life Sciences

- College of Agriculture and Life Sciences ADVANCE page
- Animal Science
- Genetics, Development and Cell Biology
- Plant Pathology and Microbiology

College of Engineering

- Chemical and Biological Engineering
- Civil, Construction and Environmental Engineering
- Materials Science and Engineering

College of Liberal Arts and Sciences

- Chemistry
- Ecology, Evolution and Organismal Biology

• Physics and Astronomy